/* Error on https://www.bettitude.com/blog/blog/?mcsf_action=main_css&ver=6.2 : Something went wrong: cURL error 56: OpenSSL SSL_read: error:0A000126:SSL routines::unexpected eof while reading, errno 0 */

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

With women’s football gaining ground across the globe, some tournaments are expected to highlight 2023 majorly the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

More Details

The Best shortlists and voting
12 January

The shortlists will be announced for nine prizes, including The Best FIFA Women’s Player, The Best FIFA Men’s Player, and the FIFA Puskás Award, and voting for them will commence.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Play-off Tournament
17-23 February
New Zealand

Cameroon, Chile, Chinese Taipei, Haiti, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Portugal, Senegal, and Thailand will fight it out for three spots at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia

The Best FIFA Football Awards™
23 February

Who will be crowned the best individuals on the planet?

From the women’s angle, Alexia Putellas won the last two editions after a fantastic career with FC Barcelona Femeni and Spain.

She will face stiff opposition this year against UEFA Women’s Euro winner, Beth Mead and the likes of Alex Morgan, and Sam Kerr.


FIFA Women’s World Cup™
20 July–20 August
Australia and New Zealand

After a ground-breaking tournament in France in 2019, Australia & New Zealand 2023 is set to take the Women’s World Cup, which will involve 32 nations for the first time, to stratospheric heights.

29 teams already know their groups with three remaining slots to be determined at the end of the Playoffs Tournament.

United States Women’s National Team (USWNT) won the last edition in France (2019).

UEFA Women’s Champions League (UWCL)
June 3, 2022
Philips Stadion, Eindhoven

The final of the 2022/2023 UEFA Women’s Champions League will take place at the Philips Stadion, Eindhoven in June.

Eight-time Champions and the most successful team in the tournament, Lyon defeated FC Barcelona Femeni 3-1 last year and will hope to win a record-extending ninth title.

FC Barcelona Femeni will hope to win its second title after its first in the 2020/2021 season.

Chelsea FC Women and Wolfsburg women will both hope to return to the final.

For Wolfsburg, the target is to win its first third title while Chelsea searches for its first title after its defeat to FC Barcelona Femeni in the 2020/2021 final.

ASFAR FC 2022 CAF Women’s Champions League winners

CAF Women’s Champions League

The date and host for the 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League are yet to be determined but likely to take place between the last three months of 2023.

2023 will be the third edition after Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies of South Africa clinched the first edition with a 2-0 win over Hasaacas Ladies FC of Ghana in 2021.

ASFAR FC of Morocco won the 2022 (second edition) with a 4-0 win against Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies.

League Champions to be crowned

Champions will emerge in the top Women’s football leagues in Europe with UEFA Women’s Champions League qualification at stake.

FC Barcelona Femeni remains the fan favourites to retain the league title in Spain.

Wolfsburg is also a favorite to retain the league in Germany with a perfect record thus far in the same vein as Barcelona.

In France, holders, Lyon and PSG will fight for honours in the league and Cup.

Another two-horse race for the league title is also expected in England with holders, Chelsea and Arsenal fighting it out for the trophy.

The bone of contention in England will be the final Champions League spot between City rivals, Manchester United and Manchester City.

In Africa, Champions will also be crowned with Women’s Champions League qualification in sight.

Bayelsa Queens (Nigeria), Ampem Darkoa (Ghana), ASFR FC (Morocco), Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (South Africa), Green Buffaloes (Zambia), Wadi Degla (Egypt), Affak Relizane (Algeria), Banque L’Habitay (Tunisia), Determine Girls (Liberia), AS Mande (Mali), Commercial Bank of Ethiopia, AS Kigali (Rwanda), Simba Queens (Tanzania), She Corporate FC (Uganda), Yei Joint Stars (South Sudan), Espoir (Benin Republic) amongst others will hope to retain its league titles.


In Asia, expect the third edition of the AFC Women’s Club Championship.

Read Also 10 Memorable Events Of Women’s Football In 2022

Tokyo Verdy Beleza (Japan) and Amman SC (Jordan) won the first two editions in 2019 and 2021.

Colombia will host the 2023 Copa Libertadores Femenina which will be the 15th edition of the tournament.

Brazil has been dominating this tournament with the likes of Santos, Sao Jose, Ferroviaria, Audax/Corinthians, and current holders, Palmeiras making impressive appearances.

It promises to be another event-filled 2023 for women’s football as www.bettitude.com/blog keep you posted on these developments.

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter

%d bloggers like this: