US Friendly Tournaments Welcome International Clubs

The football calendar outside the United States (U.S) might have switched into the international mode, but fans in the U.S. will get a glimpse of a few of their favorite clubs up close and personal in August.

More Details

Both the International Champions Cup and the Women’s Cup will be returning to Portland and Louisville, respectively, for some friendly cross-league competition.

Qualification for the 2022 ICC, to be held August 17-20, comes from trophies won in the previous season and will feature teams from four different leagues.

The Portland Thorns (2021 NWSL Shield and Challenge Cup winner) will host, welcoming Olympique Lyon (2022 Champions League and D1F Feminine winner), Chelsea (FA WSL Champion and FA Cup winner), and C.F. Monterrey (Torneo Grita México Apertura 2021 champions).


2021 NWSL Champions Washington Spirit had cleared their schedule for the event but decided not to participate.

The Women’s Cup, in its second year, brings clubs in from NWSL, Serie A Femminile, Liga MX Femenil, the WE League, and the FA WSL.

Racing Louisville will host for a second time, with OL Reign, AC Milan, Club America, Nippon TV Tokyo Verdy Beleza, and Tottenham Hotspur also participating.

To round out the six-team bracket, the two NWSL clubs will get a quarterfinal bye. The quarterfinals will be held on August 14 through to the three final ranking games on August 20.

Until there’s a women’s club world cup, international club-friendly tournaments will have to fill the demand to see the best of the best compete with one another.

For teams in the preseason, it’s a good opportunity to develop a presence in the U.S., and without a CONCACAF Champions League, NWSL teams get to see how they stack up with the rest of the world.


The Women’s International Champions Cup returns to Portland this summer and will feature four championship-winning teams from Europe and North America. Global stars like Sam Kerr, Rebeca Bernal, Ada Hegerberg, and Lindsey Horan are set to compete for the title of “World Champion.”

READ ALSO: Bettitude Goalkeeper (Women) Of The Year 2021

Making their debut in the tournament, Chelsea FC Women and Mexico’s CF Monterrey will head to Portland looking to add to their already-impressive trophy cases. CF Monterrey won the 2021 Apertura and represents the first-ever Mexican team to compete in the WICC. Chelsea looks to continue a historic season in which they’ve collected both the 2021-22 FA Women’s Super League and 2022 Women’s FA Cup. The past two WICC champions, the Portland Thorns (2021) and Olympique Lyonnais (2019) will look to add a second title to their illustrious resumes that include an NWSL and European Championships.

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email:

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.