Spain, Northern Ireland Release Squad For Euro 2022

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

The Spanish Women’s national team on Monday released the squad list for next month’s UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 with Spanish Champions, FC Barcelona dominating the list.

More Details

No less than eight (8) FC Barcelona Femeni players made the list as Spain will attempt to win the title for the first time in the country’s history.

Three (3) goalkeepers, nine (9) defenders, five (5) midfielders, and six (6) forward make up the squad.

Ballon D’or, FIFA TheBest Women’s Player of the year winner, and FC Barcelona Femeni captain, Alexia Putellas headlines the squad after guiding her side to win all available trophies in Spain last season.

Other FC Barcelona Femeni players in the squad include Sandra Panos, Leila Ouahabi, Aitana Bonmati, Mariona Caldentey, Patricia Guijarro, and Claudia Pina.

Spain will face Italy in an international friendly match on July 1 before focusing on the Group B game against the most successful team in the tournament, Germany.


The team will also play Denmark and Finland in the group for a spot in the quarter-final.

Spain Full Squad for UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

Lola Gallardo
Sandra Panõs
Misa Rodriguez

Laia Aleixandri
Ivana Andres
Ona Batlle
Olga Carmona
Sheila Garcia
Maria Pilar Leon
Leila Ouahabi
Irene Paredes
Andrea Perreira

Aitana Bonmati
Mariona Caldentey
Irene Guerrero
Patricia Guijarro
Alexia Putellas

Marta Cardona
Anthenea Del Castillo
Lucia Garcia
Esther Gonzalez
Salma Paralluelo
Claudia Pina


Northern Ireland and Austria also confirmed their 23-player squad for the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 on Monday.

READ ALSO: Nigeria NPFL: Drenched In Relegation Waters, Church Boys Now Need Another Miracle To Beat The Drop

The two (2) teams will trade tackles in Group A alongside the host, England, and Norway.

The 2022 edition of UEFA Women’s Euro is the 13th edition since its inception in 1984.

Sweden won the inaugural edition in 1984.
Germany is the most successful team with eight (8) titles (1989, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009, and 2013).

Norway has won the title twice in 1987 and 1993 while the holders, the Netherlands won its first title in the last edition in 2017.

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email:

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.