/* Error on https://www.bettitude.com/blog/blog/?mcsf_action=main_css&ver=6.2 : Something went wrong: cURL error 56: OpenSSL SSL_read: error:0A000126:SSL routines::unexpected eof while reading, errno 0 */

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

29 teams have made it to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup with the final three slots to be determined at Playoffs Tournament.

More Details

With the group draw done last year, it is imperative to take a look at how the 29 teams made it to the Tournament and how the Playoff teams can qualify for the Women’s World Cup.

Australia and New Zealand automatically qualified for the tournament as co-hosts.


South Africa defeated Morocco 2-1 in the final of the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) and made it to the World Cup after qualifying for the semi-final.

Morocco also qualified and will be making its debut appearance alongside third-placed Zambia.

Nine-time African Champions, Nigeria will be making its 9th appearance and has qualified for every edition of the World Cup since the maiden edition in 1991.

Nigeria finished fourth but sealed a place at the biggest women’s football Mundial with a semi-final placement.


Nine group winners from UEFA Qualifiers; Sweden, Spain, The Netherlands, England, Denmark, Norway, Italy, Germany, and France qualified automatically at the end of the Qualifiers.

Nine second-placed teams; Switzerland, Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Scotland, Portugal, Wales, and Bosnia & Herzegovina moved to the UEFA Playoffs.

At the end of the UEFA Playoff, the Republic of Ireland and Switzerland qualified for the World Cup.


North America

The top four teams at the end of the 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Championship automatically qualified for the World Cup.

World Champions, United States Women’s National Team (USWNT) edged Olympic Champions, Canada 1-0 in the final.

The other two qualified teams, Jamaica and Costa Rica played the third-place match which ended 1-0 in favour of the Reggae Girlz.

South America

At the end of 2022 Copa America Femenina, the top three teams automatically qualified for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Brazil pipped host, Colombia 1-0 to emerge as Champions and qualified for the World Cup alongside Colombia.

Argentina defeated Paraguay 3-1 in the third-place match to join Brazil and Colombia at the World Cup.


Semi-finalists at the 2022 Asian Women’s Cup, China, Japan, South Korea, and the Philippines automatically qualified.

The Philippines will be making its debut appearance at the World Cup alongside Vietnam.

Vietnam topped the Asian Women’s Cup 5th-7th Playoffs group to qualify ahead of Chinese Taipei and Thailand.


10 teams will jostle for the final three tickets at the Playoffs Tournament; Portugal, Cameroon, Thailand, Chile, Senegal, Haiti, Chinese Taipei, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, and Panama.

Read Also 10 Memorable Events Of Women’s Football In 2022

Portugal awaits the winner of the match between Cameroon and Thailand in Group A for a place at the World Cup.

Chile lies in wait for the winner of the game between Senegal and Taiti for a slot at Australia/New Zealand 2023 from Group B.

In Group C, Chinese Taipei, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, and Panama will all jostle for a slot.

Qualified Teams
Australia 🇦🇺
New Zealand 🇳🇿
China 🇨🇳
South Korea 🇰🇷
Japan 🇯🇵
Philippines 🇵🇭
Vietnam 🇻🇳
South Africa 🇿🇦
Morocco 🇲🇦
Zambia 🇿🇲
Nigeria 🇳🇬
Canada 🇨🇦
Jamaica 🇯🇲
Costa Rica 🇨🇷
Brazil 🇧🇷
Colombia 🇨🇴
Argentina 🇦🇷
Sweden 🇸🇪
Spain 🇪🇸
Netherlands 🇳🇱
Denmark 🇩🇰
Norway 🇳🇴
Italy 🇮🇹
England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿
Germany 🇩🇪
France 🇫🇷
The Republic of Ireland 🇮🇪
Switzerland 🇨🇭

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter

%d bloggers like this: