Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

Edo Queens Football Club was crowned the 2023/2024 Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership champions at Samson Siasia Stadium, Yenegoa, Bayelsa state after a 1-1 draw with Bayelsa Queens to crown a successful campaign for the maiden league winners.

More Details

They already had a point lead ahead of the final Matchday of the season-ending Super Six and needed a win to seal the league title irrespective of results elsewhere in the match between Rivers Angels and Heartland Queens in Nembe.

Emem Essien opened the scoring for Moses Aduku’s Edo Queens in the first half with an acrobatic attempt from a corner kick to the joy of traveling fans from Benin City ahead of the half-time break which came in a disappointing manner for the host fans.

It took the first four minutes of the second half for Prosperity Girls to restore parity from a set piece. Zainab Olopade coolly converted a free kick to level the scoreline for the host.

“Forget About It, Footballers And Clubs Won’t Participate”, Carlo Ancelotti Cast Doubts Over Los Blancos 2025 FIFA Club World Cup Involvement

2 Years, €15m, Szczesny To Evaluate Al Nassr Offer

Al Shabab Waiting To Complete Rafa Silva Signing

Al Ahli Fans Launch Hashtag Demanding Club To Sign German Star

Both teams tried to get the winner after realising that Heartland Queens and Rivers Angels were playing out a 1-1 draw but could not find a breakthrough till the end of the encounter to the advantage of Aduku's side.

Aduku became the first coach to win the league title for Edo Queens and also won his second title with two different teams, a feat he previously achieved with his state team, Bayelsa Queens in 2022.

The team will represent Nigeria at the West Africa Zone B (WAFU-B) Women's Champions League Qualifiers. The winner of the WAFU-B tournament will represent the zone at the 2024 CAF Women's Champions League.


The top three teams at the end of the season; Edo Queens, Rivers Angels, and Bayelsa Queens shared honours at the end of the tournament.

Read Also - Top Women’s Football Moments In 2023

Winning captain, Suliat Abideen won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) prize. FC Robo Queen's Folashade Ijamilusi emerged as the top goal scorer with eight goals despite her team not qualifying for the season-ending NWFL Premiership Super Six.

Rivers Angels' Morufa Ademola won the Goalkeeper of the season award while host, Bayelsa Queens emerged with the Fair Play prize.

The 2023/2024 NWFL Premiership season was one of the most exciting, captivating, and competitive with a photo finish to the season.

Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter