Details Of World Cup Playoff Tournament As New Zealand Plan To Face Portugal, Argentina

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

Ten teams from six different continents will battle it out for the three remaining places at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023 from 18-23 February 2023.

More Details

Venues for the tournament include Waikato Stadium (Hamilton/Kirikiriroa) and North Harbour Stadium (Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau).

Group A: Portugal, Cameroon, Thailand

Group B: Chile, Haiti, Senegal

Group C: Chinese Taipei, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Panama


Cameroon will face Thailand for the right to play Portugal in the Group A final, while Chile will await the winners of Senegal-Haiti in Group B.

In Group C, the winners of the Chinese Taipei-Paraguay and Papua New Guinea-Panama ties will square off for a ticket Down Under.


Between 17 and 23 February, Waikato Stadium and North Harbour Stadium will also host a series of friendly matches.

Read Also 10 Memorable Events Of Women’s Football In 2022

New Zealand will be at the heart of the action, with the Football Ferns continuing their preparations with a demanding fixture against Portugal.

This will be followed by back-to-back meetings between New Zealand and fellow Women’s World Cup participants Argentina.

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email: keepup@bettitude.com

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be in the Know! Subscribe To BettiSports Daily Newsletter