Africa’s Path To 2022 Women’s Champions League

Written by Oluwaseun Oyediji

The second edition of TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League is slated to hold from October 30 to November 13, 2022, in Morocco.

Ahead of the eight-team tournament, teams have emerged from different zones to qualify for the women’s club competition which started last year in Egypt.

Seven out of the expected eight teams that will participate at the tournament have already qualified.

COSAFA (Southern Africa) – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies and Green Buffaloes

Holders, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies of South Africa automatically qualified for the tournament as Champions alongside 2022 COSAFA Zonal Champions, Green Buffaloes of Zambia.

Green Buffaloes defeated Young Buffaloes of Eswatini 4-0 and recorded the same result against Olympique De Moroni of Comoros Island to top Group B with a maximum of six points which qualified the team to face Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies in the final.

After a barren draw, Green Buffaloes earned a 6-5 win on penalties to dethrone Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies as COSAFA Zonal Champions.

Green Buffaloes will be making a debut appearance at the main tournament.

West Africa Zone A (WAFU-A) – Determine Girls

Just like Green Buffaloes, Determine Girls of Liberia dethroned AS Mande of Mali to emerge as WAFU-A Zonal Champions, picking the sole ticket for the 2022 TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League from the zone.

A 1-1 draw with AS Mande in the opening game of the Zonal Qualifiers was followed by a 0-1 win for Determined Girls over USPA of Senegal which sealed the WAFU-A title for the Liberian Champions.


Determine Girls qualified for the Champions League with four points from two games ahead of AS Mande (2 points) and USPA (1 point).

This will be the first time that Determine Girls will qualify for the Champions League after missing out on last year’s edition.

UNAF (North Africa) – Wadi Degla and ASFAR FC

Last year’s host club, Wadi Degla of Egypt reigned supreme in the UNAF Zonal Qualifiers winning its two games against Afak Relizane of Algeria 0-2 (Noha El Solh brace) and Banque De L’Habitat of Tunisia 0-2 (Noha El Solh brace).

Wadi Degla with a maximum of six points from two games clinched the UNAF Zonal title ahead of Banque De L’Habitat of Tunisia (3 points) and Afak Relizane of Algeria (0 point).

They will be joined by the host club and Moroccan Champions, ASFAR FC of Morocco.

CECAFA (East Africa) – Simba Queens

Simba Queens of Tanzania dominated the CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers winning all five games, scoring 18 goals, and conceding a goal.

The team opened its campaign with a 6-0 bashing of GRFC of Djibouti (Pambani Kuzoya, Olaiya Barakat brace, Asha Djafar brace, Joelle Buruku).

The second Group game with She Corporate FC of Uganda ended 2-0 in favour of the Tanzanian Champions (Aquino Corozane and Pambani Kuzoya).

The team top Group B after a 4-0 win against Warriors Queens (Aquino Corozane, Philomena Abakah brace, and Opa Clement).

In the semi-final, Simba Queens upended AS Kigali of Rwanda 5-1 to make it to the final.

Aquino Corozane brace, Opa Clement, Aisha Juma, and Diana Mnally scored for Simba Queens while Mukeshimana converted a goal for AS Kigali.

The final match was a repeat of the Group B encounter with She Corporate FC but Aquino Corozane’s 47th-minute goal clinched the title for Simba Queens which will be making its debut at the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League.

West Africa Zone B (WAFU-B) – Bayelsa Queens

Nigerian Champions, Bayelsa Queens won four of its five games scoring 17 goals and conceding a goal in winning the WAFU-B title.

READ ALSO: WAFCON 2022: Contenders, Pretenders, And Participants

The team inflicted Athleta FC with a 5-0 thrashing (Joseph Miracle, Etim Blessing, and Itimi Mercy hat-trick).

A goalless draw with Hasaacas Ladies FC was followed by a 3-1 triumph against USFA of Burkina Faso (Flourish Sabastine, Etim Edidiong, and Aderemi Mary).

Bayelsa Queens went on a goal spree in the semi-final with a 6-0 annihilation of Espoir FC of Benin Republic (Chinyere Igbomalu brace, Kafayat Bashiru, Glory Edet, Etim Edidiong, and Anjor Mary).

The WAFU-B Zonal final like that of CECAFA was another repeat of the Group B top-of-the-table game as Bayelsa Queens scored three goals in the first half from Miracle Joseph, Flourish Sabastine, and Chinyere Igbomalu to win the Zonal title and qualify for the Champions League.

Winning the WAFU-B Zonal Qualifiers means Bayelsa Queens will also be making its debut at the main tournaments.

In all, four out of the already qualified seven teams will be making their debut appearances at the 2022 TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League.

Bayelsa Queens, Determine Girls, Green Buffaloes, and Simba Queens will be making their debut appearances at the tournament.

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies, ASFAR FC, and Wadi Degla took part in the maiden edition last year.

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies won the maiden TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League defeating Hasaacas Ladies FC of Ghana in the final.

ASFAR FC won the bronze medal defeating Malabo Kings of Equatorial Guinea 3-1 while Wadi Degla failed to make it out of Group B with a third-placed finish behind Hasaacas Ladies FC of Ghana and Malabo Kings.

The last team that will qualify for the 2022 TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League will be determined from UNIFFAC (Central Africa) Zonal Qualifiers which will take place later this month.

Qualified teams for 2022 TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League

ASFAR FC (Morocco, host team)

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC (South Africa, Holders)

Green Buffaloes (Zambia, COSAFA Champions)

Wadi Degla (Egypt, UNAF Champions)

Simba Queens (Tanzania, CECAFA Champions)

Determine Girls (Liberia, WAFU-A Champions)

Bayelsa Queens (Nigeria, WAFU-B Champions)

Do you have a story tip?
Kindly Email:

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.